How Many Towns are in Contra Costa County?

The Contra Costa Canal, a fenced irrigation canal lined with concrete, still runs through the center of the county and provides industrial and agricultural water to farms and industry. Before 1903, most trips to downtown Contra Costa County were by boat or rail to Martinez, on the north coast, and from there to industrial areas in the east along the coast, as well as to agricultural regions in the south. Contra Costa County (in Spanish, “Opposite Coast”) is a county in California, located in the east bay of the San Francisco Bay Area. It was one of the original 27 counties created in 1850 at the time of statehood.

During the time when California was an independent province of Mexico (1836-1846), 15 land concessions were made in Contra Costa County. Democrats have a clear advantage in voter registration numbers across all political subdivisions of Contra Costa County. In 1937, the two-hole Caldecott tunnel for road vehicles was completed, making it easier to access the interior of Contra Costa County. This county is located in the Bay Area region of California and is considered an East Bay region.

Since 2003, four Indian gaming casinos have been proposed in Richmond and surrounding areas of western Contra Costa County. Property titles in Contra Costa County can be attributed to multiple subdivisions of some original land grants. The racial makeup of Contra Costa County was 614,512 (58.6%) white; 97,161 (9.3%) African American; 6,122 (0.6%) Native Americans; 151,469 (14.4%) Asians (4.6%) from other races (4.6% Filipinos, 3.8% Chinese, 2.1% Indian); 4,845 (0.5%) Pacific Islanders; 112,691 (10.7%) from other races; and 62,225 (5.9%) from two or more races. So how many towns are there in Contra Costa County? The answer is that there are 19 incorporated towns in Contra Costa County: Antioch, Brentwood, Clayton, Concord, Danville, El Cerrito, Hercules, Lafayette, Martinez, Moraga, Oakley, Orinda, Pinole, Pittsburg, Pleasant Hill, Richmond, San Pablo, San Ramon and Walnut Creek.

Contra Costa County is a great place to live and work with its diverse population and many attractions. It has a rich history and culture that can be explored through its many museums and historical sites. With its 19 incorporated towns and numerous unincorporated communities scattered throughout the county's 1,049 square miles of land area there is something for everyone.